Archive | 3:07 pm

My Mom

5 May

I haven’t written in a long time because, although there is quite a lot to write about, there has been a dark cloud over life this past month. My mother, Rebecca M Craver, passed away on April 10, at the age of 72.  Most of you are aware that she had been battling lung cancer for 3 years, that had metastasized to her liver and bones.  She and my father had decided over 2 months ago to forego any additional treatment.  The chemotherapy and the radiation over the past year, despite her courageous fight and hope, had not resulted any positive changes we had hoped for.  Thus, leaving her feeling sick most of this last year.  They had brought in hospice about a week before we left for our Africa trip to aid in relieving her pain.

We had finished our 5 day safari and had arrived for 3 days in Zanzibar when things took a turn for the worse with her condition.  I left Wesley and the girls in Zanzibar with the 3 other families we were traveling with, and in 2 days, I was in Santa Fe, NM with my mom, dad, sister and brother.  She died 3 days later.  We felt great relief knowing she was no longer suffering and no longer in pain.  We were all there together in her last days.  The void my mother’s passing has left is immense.  We all miss her terribly here in Dubai, but enjoy looking at all our many photos of her and talking about “Lita” daily!

With this post, I thought I would just put a few favorite photos of her (although there are too many to choose). In future posts, I plan on sharing our amazing African safari, Lucy and Caroline’s 7th birthday party “American Girl Doll” party, as well as Beiber fever photos (took the girls to see Justin Beiber concert last night!)

IMG_0001-1

My mom and I swimming circa 1975

IMGP0312-1

Now this is what you call A “GRANDMA!”

IMG_1648

Always reading with the girls (and here letting Lucy try on her glasses.)

IMG_0049_2

With my mom around, there was always laughter and silliness!